For the Love of Jenny…

There is no doubt in my mind.  My jewellery making efforts originate in my fascination with gemstones and, more powerfully, my love of Jenny.  In the case of the former, it represents the fact that I would  love to become a gemologist, an ambition which is sadly unrealistic.  The latter case is something I can and will continue to demonstrate.  So, these new items are most definitely in pursuit of the second, and primary, motivation!   Oh, and you’re likely to find that amethysts feature frequently, because amethyst is Jenny’s birthstone.

First up on the ‘gemwalk’  is an earring set, which I rather lamely called the Triplets Set.  Inspired by nothing more than possession of the rather beautiful findings from the Precious Accents range by Cousin Corporation of America (indubitably my favourite accessories supplier!).  The gemstones are carnelian, smoky quartz, garnet and amethyst.

Triplets Earring Set

Triplets Earring Set

The following is the Amethyst Falls Set.  Based on a desire to make an attractive but minimalist piece, it obviously required something other than my usual stringing material.  The necklace is based on oval chain.  The drops are populated with smoky quartz nuggets, as a weight, and amethyst chips.  The two flanking drops terminate in eyes, to permit some degree of adaptation, so that the necklace may have different looks.  The earrings reflect the centre drop of the necklace, and features the same gemstones.

Amethyst Falls Set

Amethyst Falls Set

I’m happy to say that Jenny loved them!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. e1aine
    Mar 24, 2012 @ 23:34:51

    Beautiful. I especially love the earrings.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

